About

Founded in 1999 by Drs. Pierre Lachance and René Therrien, the Centre de recherche Saint-Louis promotes the development of medical science worldwide.

About

Purpose

The Centre de recherche Saint-Louis’ purpose is quite simple: increase the quality of living for all human beings. This same purpose drives our team of experts to conduct in-depth research in a whole array of medical fields as complex as they are diverse. To continually strive towards meeting our goals, we have been working in close partnership with the largest pharmaceutical consortia for more than 10 years now, associations that share our great desire to improve health care. The Centre de recherche Saint-Louis is the expression of a simple objective, enabled by carrying out comprehensive research.

Now in SAINTE-FOY, LÉVIS, SHERBROOKE and MONTREAL!

Clinical studies

We look forward to seeing you!

Why participate?

Clinical research is essential to the development of safe and effective medications. While the whole research and development process typically takes more than a decade, only the very last steps involve human participation. Without the implication of participants like you, developing new medications and improving existing ones would be nearly impossible. Participating means contributing to the progress of medical research and receiving generous financial compensation, as well as a complete health check.

Can I participate?

Our participants are volunteers from all walks of life. The recommended selection criteria for each individual study ultimately determines which candidates are chosen for any given research. We therefore invite you to consult the Ongoing studies page of our website, where you will find all the necessary information for each study.

Clinical studies

We look forward to seeing you!

The four phases of clinical studies

Phase I
Type I clinical studies aim to evaluate the harmlessness – the absence of risk in taking a medication – and pharmacokinetics – “the branch of pharmacology concerned with the movement of drugs within the body” (Source: Oxford Dictionaries) – of experimental drugs. Type I studies typically take anywhere between a few days and several weeks to complete, and require the hospitalization of a limited number of healthy volunteers for the duration of the study.
Phase II
Type II clinical studies aim to identify the effectiveness of an experimental drug when tested on a homogeneous sample of volunteers afflicted by a diagnosed disease. Type II studies typically take anywhere between a few months and several years to complete and are conducted on a group of a few dozen individuals. Usually randomized (subjects distributed randomly), these studies focus on the critical evaluation of the tolerance to side effects / effectiveness ratio of the product.
Phase III
Type III clinical studies typically take anywhere between a few months and several years to complete and are conducted on a larger sample of volunteers afflicted by a diagnosed disease than was used for the previous phase. A larger sample allows researchers to gather more information on the experimental medication under study to better compare it with drugs usually used, or, where appropriate, to a placebo.
Phase IV
Type IV clinical studies are carried out for observation or documentation purposes following the commercialization of a drug. These studies generally include a large number of volunteers from various countries, all of whom are afflicted by a diagnosed disease. Type IV studies allow to colligate, from a very large sample, different results susceptible of helping improve a drug (side effects, efficacy, dose, interaction, etc.).

ABOUT US WE ARE THE
TRUSTED EXPERTS

BLOOD BANK & CHEMISTRY

Laboratories used for scientific research nursing Implications.

COAGULATION & CYTOLOGY

Laboratories used for scientific research nursing Implications.

Scientific research

Laboratories used for scientific research nursing Implications.

Our EXPERT TEAM

BIOTECHNOLOGY
90%
LabtechCO is a medical testing laboratory service that offers a complete range of tests for diagnosis, screening or evaluation.
VACCINES
80%
LabtechCO is a medical testing laboratory service that offers a complete range of tests for diagnosis, screening or evaluation.
MEDICAL RESEARCH
70%
LabtechCO is a medical testing laboratory service that offers a complete range of tests for diagnosis, screening or evaluation.

WHAT SPEAK PEOPLE

Raison d’être

Le Centre de recherche Saint-Louis existe d’abord pour une raison simple : améliorer la qualité de vie de l’être humain. C’est cette même raison simple qui pousse notre équipe d’experts à mener à bien des recherches approfondies dans des champs médicaux aussi étendus que complexes. Pour accomplir cette mission, nous travaillons depuis près de 10 ans maintenant en étroite collaboration avec les plus grands consortiums pharmaceutiques, qui partagent notre désir de faire progresser les soins et la santé. Le Centre de recherche Saint-Louis, c’est l’expression d’un objectif simple, qui passe par l’exécution de recherches exhaustives.

.

Pourquoi participer?

La recherche clinique est essentielle au développement de médicaments sécuritaires et efficaces. Bien que l’ensemble du processus de développement prenne d’habitude plus d’une décennie, ce ne sont que les dernières phases de celui-ci qui nécessitent une participation humaine. Sans votre implication, produire de nouveaux médicaments et améliorer ceux existant déjà serait pratiquement impossible. Participer, c’est contribuer à l’épanouissement des sciences médicales à travers le monde, tout en obtenant une évaluation médicale complète ainsi qu’une indemnité compensatoire..

.

Puis-je participer?

Nos participants sont des volontaires provenant de la population générale. Chacun des critères de sélection recommandés par le protocole d’une étude détermine quelles personnes seront retenues pour une étude donnée. Nous vous invitons donc à consulter la section Études en cours de notre site web, où vous trouverez toute l’information nécessaire à cet effet.

..

Les quatre phases des études cliniques

 

Phase I 

Les études cliniques de type I ont pour objectif principal l’évaluation de l’innocuité – absence de risque résultant de la prise d’un médicament – et de la pharmacocinétique – « étude des différentes étapes du métabolisme des substances pharmacologiquement actives dans l’organisme » (Source : OLF, 2000) – des médicaments expérimentaux. Les études de type I durent généralement de quelques jours à plusieurs semaines et font appel à un nombre restreint de volontaires sains hospitalisés pour la durée de l’étude.

.
Phase II 

Les études cliniques de type II visent la reconnaissance de l’efficacité d’un médicament expérimental lorsqu’appliqué sur un échantillon homogène de volontaires affligés par une pathologie diagnostiquée. Les études de type II durent généralement de quelques mois à deux ans et sont menées sur un groupe témoin de quelques dizaines d’individus. Le plus souvent randomisées (sujets répartis au hasard), ces études s’intéressent particulièrement à l’évaluation critique du ratio tolérance aux effets secondaires / efficacité du produit.


Phase III

Les études cliniques de type III durent généralement de quelques mois à plusieurs années et sont menées sur un nombre de volontaires affligés par une pathologie diagnostiquée plus vaste que celui de la phase précédente. La constitution d’un tel échantillon permet aux chercheurs de recueillir davantage d’informations sur le médicament expérimental à l’étude et de le comparer aux médicaments habituellement employés ou, le cas échant, à un placébo.


Phase IV

Les études cliniques de type IV sont dites d’observation ou de documentation et font suite à la commercialisation d’un médicament. Ces études regroupent généralement un très grand nombre de volontaires affligés par une pathologie diagnostiquée, et ce dans divers pays. Elles permettent de colliger, à partir d’un échantillon extrêmement vaste, différents résultats susceptibles de favoriser l’amélioration d’un médicament (effets secondaires, efficacité, posologie, interactions possibles, etc.)